Brand

MRCOOL air conditioners: every model we track, compared

We track 46 MRCOOL air conditioner models: 30 mini splits and 16 central heat pump systems, 9,000 BTU to 60,000 BTU. 46 are in stock at a retailer right now, from $829. 1 CPSC air conditioner notice we hold names MRCOOL: Midea U and U+ Window Air Conditioners (2025, filed by Midea). None of the 46 MRCOOL models we track that state a model number is named in a notice we hold, which is not a safety certification.

Models
46
Sizes
9,000 to 60,000 BTU
In stock now
46
Notices naming it
1

How MRCOOL compares with other brands, size by size

At each standard size where MRCOOL and another brand both have a model in stock, we check whether MRCOOL's cheapest model is the cheapest, its best efficiency rating the highest and its quietest verified noise rating the lowest. A price counts as cheaper only by at least $20 and 5%, and only between models installed the same way (a do-it-yourself kit is not priced against an installer-fitted system); anything closer is level. We do not rate reliability: no public data reports repair rates by brand.

Wall-mounted mini splits

  • MRCOOL has 28 wall-mounted mini splits in stock at 5 standard sizes (2 more in stock are another size or style and not compared); at all 5, another brand has one in stock too.
  • Of the 5 sizes compared like for like, another brand is cheaper by at least $20 and 5% at all 5.
  • Of the 5 sizes where both publish a SEER2 rating, its best rating is the highest by at least 0.5 SEER2 at 1; another brand rates higher by at least 0.5 SEER2 at 4.
  • Where its listings state one, the compressor warranty is 2 to 7 years.
MRCOOL against the cheapest other brand at each size
SizeMRCOOL fromOthers from
9,000 BTU$829$739 Senville
12,000 BTU$979$664 Pioneer (11,500 BTU)
18,000 BTU$1,399$1,039 Senville
24,000 BTU$1,649$1,259 Senville
36,000 BTU$2,499$2,118 Pioneer (35,000 BTU)

MRCOOL ductless mini splits (30)

Smallest first. "Not published" means the listing does not state that figure.

MRCOOL central heat pump systems (16)

Smallest first. "Not published" means the listing does not state that figure.

Prices are live retailer offers and change often; compare.ac may earn a commission on purchases, at no cost to you. Where one model number is sold as more than one listing, the row shows the cheapest and links the others.

CPSC air conditioner notices that name MRCOOL

Every notice we hold that names the brand, newest first, whoever filed it, including notices for models no retailer we track sells. A notice covers the model numbers it lists, not every MRCOOL unit.

Who is behind MRCOOL

MRCOOL is based in Hickory, Kentucky. The Kentucky governor's office describes HVAC Distributing as a Hickory heating and air conditioning wholesaler founded in 2013, and says the MRCOOL brand and MRCOOL LLC followed the next year. CPSC recall 25-320 says the U-shaped window units sold under the Mr. Cool name were made by Midea. No source we read names who makes MRCOOL mini splits.

Sources: Office of the Governor of Kentucky, November 2025 ; CPSC recall 25-320 (June 5, 2025) , read October 21, 2026.

MRCOOL questions, answered

Is MRCOOL a good air conditioner brand?

We do not score brands, and no public data reports repair rates by brand. Here is how its in-stock models compare with every other brand's at the same size. For its wall-mounted mini splits: of the 5 sizes compared like for like, another brand is cheaper by at least $20 and 5% at all 5. Of the 5 sizes where both publish a SEER2 rating, its best rating is the highest by at least 0.5 SEER2 at 1; another brand rates higher by at least 0.5 SEER2 at 4. Where its listings state one, the compressor warranty is 2 to 7 years. 1 CPSC air conditioner notice we hold names MRCOOL: Midea U and U+ Window Air Conditioners (2025, filed by Midea). None of the 46 MRCOOL models we track that state a model number is named in a notice we hold, which is not a safety certification.

Who makes MRCOOL air conditioners?

MRCOOL is based in Hickory, Kentucky. The Kentucky governor's office describes HVAC Distributing as a Hickory heating and air conditioning wholesaler founded in 2013, and says the MRCOOL brand and MRCOOL LLC followed the next year. CPSC recall 25-320 says the U-shaped window units sold under the Mr. Cool name were made by Midea. No source we read names who makes MRCOOL mini splits.

Has MRCOOL had air conditioner recalls?

1 CPSC air conditioner notice we hold names MRCOOL: Midea U and U+ Window Air Conditioners (2025, filed by Midea). None of the 46 MRCOOL models we track that state a model number is named in a notice we hold, which is not a safety certification. A notice covers specific model numbers, so check the number on a unit's own label against it before buying or using one.

What sizes do MRCOOL air conditioners come in?

Mini splits: 9,000, 12,000, 15,000, 18,000, 24,000 and 36,000 BTU. Central heat pump systems: 18,000, 24,000, 30,000, 36,000, 48,000 and 60,000 BTU. Match the size to your room with the sizing calculator rather than picking the biggest one.

Do MRCOOL mini splits work in cold weather?

Yes. The 9 MRCOOL mini splits we list whose ENERGY STAR certification we matched can deliver between 62% and 73% of their rated 47°F heat when it is 5°F outside (their maximum output there). By line: DIY 67% to 73%; Advantage 65% to 71%; DIY Easy Pro 62%. 5 of the 9 carry ENERGY STAR's cold-climate designation. Every certified model's output at 5°F and 17°F is on our page on how cold a mini split can heat.

How much do MRCOOL air conditioners cost?

Mini splits in stock: $829 to $3,469. Central heat pump systems in stock: $2,949 to $5,699. Prices are live retailer offers and change often.