Brand
We track 35 Frigidaire air conditioner models: 23 window units, 6 through-the-wall units, 1 PTAC and 5 portables, 5,000 BTU to 24,000 BTU. 25 are in stock at a retailer right now, from $199. 3 CPSC air conditioner notices we hold name Frigidaire, from 2001 to 2025. Of the 35 Frigidaire models we track, 2 models carry model numbers named in CPSC recall 25-320 (Midea U and U+ Window Air Conditioners); their purchase links stay paused. The other 30 that state a model number are not named in a notice we hold, which is not a safety certification. 3 listings state no model number, so check the label on the unit itself.
At each standard size where Frigidaire and another brand both have a model in stock, we check whether Frigidaire's cheapest model is the cheapest, its best efficiency rating the highest and its quietest verified noise rating the lowest. A price counts as cheaper only by at least $20 and 5%, and only between models installed the same way (a do-it-yourself kit is not priced against an installer-fitted system); anything closer is level. We do not rate reliability: no public data reports repair rates by brand.
| Size | Frigidaire from | Others from |
|---|---|---|
| 5,000 BTU | $199 | $159 GE |
| 6,000 BTU | $269 | $199 LG |
| 8,000 BTU | $285 | $269 GE |
| 10,000 BTU | $322 | $309 GE |
| 12,000 BTU | $398 | $379 GE |
| 14,000 BTU | $448 | $409 GE |
| 18,000 BTU | $548 | $679.99 Keystone |
| Size | Frigidaire from | Others from |
|---|---|---|
| 8,000 BTU | $529 | $549 LG |
| 10,000 BTU | $529 | $489 LG (9,800 BTU) |
| 12,000 BTU | $628 | $549 LG (11,800 BTU) |
Midea Recalls About 1.7 Million U and U+ Window Air Conditioners Due to Risk of Mold Exposure. Published June 5, 2025. The notice covers units sold from March 2020 through May 2025; the model number is on a label on the front right side of the unit.
Transcribed from the notice, checked September 30, 2026.
Purchase links for these stay paused.
Not being listed is not a safety certification.
Check the model number on the unit's own label against the notice (a retailer title or a similar-looking product is not enough), then follow the notice's steps to confirm your unit. This check uses published US CPSC notices and is not a safety certification.
Smallest first. "Not published" means the listing does not state that figure.
Size
5,000 BTU
up to 150 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
52 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Price
Size
6,000 BTU
up to 250 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
52 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Price
Size
8,000 BTU
up to 350 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
54 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Price
Size
8,000 BTU
up to 350 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
53 dB(A)
Heat
Electric coil, 3,500 BTU
115 V
Price
Size
8,000 BTU
up to 350 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 15
ENERGY STAR
Noise
42 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
Price
No live offerSize
8,000 BTU
up to 350 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 15
ENERGY STAR
Noise
Not published
Heat
Cooling only
Price
No live offerFrigidaire
10,000 BTU Wi-Fi Enabled Energy Star Inverter Window Air ConditionerSize
10,000 BTU
up to 450 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 15
ENERGY STAR
Noise
51 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Price
Size
10,000 BTU
up to 450 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
53 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Price
Size
10,000 BTU
up to 450 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 15
ENERGY STAR
Noise
53 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Price
Recall listed: purchase pausedSize
10,000 BTU
up to 450 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 15
ENERGY STAR
Noise
Not published
Heat
Cooling only
Size
12,000 BTU
up to 550 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
Not published
Heat
Heats
230 V
Price
No live offerFrigidaire
12,000 BTU Wi-Fi Enabled Energy Star Inverter Window Air ConditionerSize
12,000 BTU
up to 550 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 15
ENERGY STAR
Noise
53 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Price
Size
12,000 BTU
up to 550 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
55 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Size
12,000 BTU
up to 550 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 15
ENERGY STAR
Noise
55 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Price
Recall listed: purchase pausedSize
12,000 BTU
up to 550 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 15
ENERGY STAR
Noise
Not published
Heat
Cooling only
Price
Frigidaire
14,000 BTU Wi-Fi Enabled Energy Star Inverter Window Air ConditionerSize
14,000 BTU
up to 700 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 15
ENERGY STAR
Noise
52 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Price
Size
14,000 BTU
up to 700 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
Not published
Heat
Cooling only
Size
14,300 BTU
up to 700 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
56 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Price
No live offerSize
18,000 BTU
up to 1,020 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
53 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
208/230 V
Frigidaire
Air Conditioner Window Inverter with Wi-Fi 18,000 BTU 230 V in WhiteSize
18,000 BTU
up to 1,050 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 15
ENERGY STAR
Noise
Not published
Heat
Cooling only
230 V
Price
Size
18,800 BTU
up to 1,020 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
54 dB(A)
Heat
Electric coil, 16,000 BTU
208/230 V
Price
Size
23,200 BTU
up to 1,600 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
Not published
Heat
Heats
230 V
Price
No live offerSize
24,000 BTU
up to 1,400 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 13.3
ENERGY STAR
Noise
Not published
Heat
Cooling only
230 V
Price
No live offerSmallest first. "Not published" means the listing does not state that figure.
Frigidaire
8,000 BTU Through-the-Wall Air Conditioner with Heat 115VSize
8,000 BTU
up to 350 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
52 dB(A)
Heat
Electric coil, 4,200 BTU
115 V
Price
Frigidaire
10,000 BTU 230V Through-the Wall Air Conditioner with HeatSize
10,000 BTU
up to 450 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
57 dB(A)
Heat
Electric coil, 10,600 BTU
208/230 V
Price
Size
10,000 BTU
up to 450 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
53 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
Price
Frigidaire
10,000 BTU Through-the-Wall Air Conditioner 230V - 230vSize
10,000 BTU
up to 450 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
53 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
230 V
Size
11,800 BTU
up to 500 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
50 dB(A)
Heat
Heat pump, 3.5 kW
Price
No live offerSize
12,000 BTU
up to 550 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
58 dB(A)
Heat
Electric coil, 10,600 BTU
208/230 V
Price
Size
14,000 BTU
up to 700 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
58 dB(A)
Heat
Electric coil, 10,600 BTU
208/230 V
Price
No live offerSmallest first. "Not published" means the listing does not state that figure.
Size
8,000 BTU
up to 150 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 6.3
Noise
51 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Size
10,000 BTU
up to 250 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 6.7
Noise
52 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Frigidaire
12,000 BTU ASHRAE (8,000 BTU DOE) 115 V White 3-In-One Portable Air ConditionerSize
12,000 BTU
up to 350 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 7.2
Noise
Not published
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Frigidaire
3-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner 14,000 BTU (ASHRAE) / 10,000 BTU (DOE)Size
14,000 BTU
up to 450 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 7.8
Noise
Not published
Heat
Cooling only
Frigidaire Gallery
3-in-1 Portable Room Air Conditioner 14,000 BTU (ASHRAE) / 10,500 BTU (DOE)Size
14,000 BTU
up to 450 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 12.5
Noise
Not published
Heat
Cooling only
Prices are live retailer offers and change often; compare.ac may earn a commission on purchases, at no cost to you. Where one model number is sold as more than one listing, the row shows the cheapest and links the others. Portable units are often advertised by their older ASHRAE rating; the DOE's SACC rating is lower, so a portable's BTU does not compare directly with a window unit's.
Every notice we hold that names the brand, newest first, whoever filed it, including notices for models no retailer we track sells. A notice covers the model numbers it lists, not every Frigidaire unit.
Risk of Mold Exposure
The heating coil in the units can be damaged during assembly, causing an electrical short and overheating, which poses a fire hazard to consumers.
These air conditioners can short circuit, posing a risk of fires, and shock and burn injuries to consumers.
CPSC recall 25-320 says U and U+ window air conditioners made by Midea were sold under several brand names, Frigidaire among them, and lists three Frigidaire model numbers. No source we read names who makes Frigidaire's other room air conditioners.
Source: CPSC recall 25-320 (June 5, 2025) , read October 21, 2026.
We do not score brands, and no public data reports repair rates by brand. Here is how its in-stock models compare with every other brand's at the same size. For its window units: of the 7 sizes compared like for like, its cheapest model is the cheapest in stock by at least $20 and 5% at 1; it is within $20 or 5% of the cheapest other brand at 3; another brand is cheaper by at least $20 and 5% at 3. Of the 4 sizes where both publish a CEER rating, it is within 0.5 CEER of the best at 2; another brand rates higher by at least 0.5 CEER at 2. Of the 7 sizes where both have a verified noise rating, it is within 3 dB of the quietest at 3; another brand is quieter by at least 3 dB at 4. 6 of its 15 in-stock models are ENERGY STAR certified. For its through-the-wall units and PTACs: of the 3 sizes compared like for like, it is within $20 or 5% of the cheapest other brand at 1; another brand is cheaper by at least $20 and 5% at 2. Of the 3 sizes where both have a verified noise rating, it is within 3 dB of the quietest at all 3. None of its 5 in-stock models is ENERGY STAR certified. 3 CPSC air conditioner notices we hold name Frigidaire, from 2001 to 2025. Of the 35 Frigidaire models we track, 2 models carry model numbers named in CPSC recall 25-320 (Midea U and U+ Window Air Conditioners); their purchase links stay paused. The other 30 that state a model number are not named in a notice we hold, which is not a safety certification. 3 listings state no model number, so check the label on the unit itself.
CPSC recall 25-320 says U and U+ window air conditioners made by Midea were sold under several brand names, Frigidaire among them, and lists three Frigidaire model numbers. No source we read names who makes Frigidaire's other room air conditioners.
3 CPSC air conditioner notices we hold name Frigidaire, from 2001 to 2025. Of the 35 Frigidaire models we track, 2 models carry model numbers named in CPSC recall 25-320 (Midea U and U+ Window Air Conditioners); their purchase links stay paused. The other 30 that state a model number are not named in a notice we hold, which is not a safety certification. 3 listings state no model number, so check the label on the unit itself. The notices: Midea U and U+ Window Air Conditioners (2025, filed by Midea); Electrolux Air Conditioning/Heating Units (2004, filed by Electrolux); White Consolidated Air Conditioners (2001, filed by White Consolidated). A notice covers specific model numbers, so check the number on a unit's own label against it before buying or using one.
Window units: 5,000, 6,000, 8,000, 10,000, 12,000, 14,000, 14,300, 18,000, 18,800, 23,200 and 24,000 BTU. Through-the-wall units and PTACs: 8,000, 10,000, 11,800, 12,000 and 14,000 BTU. Portables: 8,000, 10,000, 12,000 and 14,000 BTU. Match the size to your room with the sizing calculator rather than picking the biggest one.
Window units in stock: $199 to $859. Through-the-wall units and PTACs in stock: $529 to $749. Portables in stock: $298 to $597. Prices are live retailer offers and change often.