Brand
We track 16 Whirlpool air conditioner models: 8 window units, 7 through-the-wall units and 1 portable, 6,000 BTU to 18,000 BTU. 10 are in stock at a retailer right now, from $269.99. We hold no CPSC air conditioner notice that names Whirlpool. None of the 10 Whirlpool models we track that state a model number is named in a notice we hold, which is not a safety certification. 6 listings state no model number, so check the label on the unit itself.
At each standard size where Whirlpool and another brand both have a model in stock, we check whether Whirlpool's cheapest model is the cheapest, its best efficiency rating the highest and its quietest verified noise rating the lowest. A price counts as cheaper only by at least $20 and 5%, and only between models installed the same way (a do-it-yourself kit is not priced against an installer-fitted system); anything closer is level. We do not rate reliability: no public data reports repair rates by brand.
| Size | Whirlpool from | Others from |
|---|---|---|
| 6,000 BTU | $269.99 | $199 LG |
| 10,000 BTU | $359.99 | $309 GE |
| 12,000 BTU | $429.99 | $379 GE |
| 18,000 BTU | $779.99 | $548 Frigidaire |
| Size | Whirlpool from | Others from |
|---|---|---|
| 10,000 BTU | $529.99 | $489 LG (9,800 BTU) |
| 12,000 BTU | $599.99 | $549 LG (11,800 BTU) |
| 14,000 BTU | $659.99 | $619.99 Keystone |
Smallest first. "Not published" means the listing does not state that figure.
Size
6,000 BTU
up to 250 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
51 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Price
Size
8,000 BTU
up to 350 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
42 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
Price
No live offerSize
8,000 BTU
up to 350 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
56 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
Price
No live offerSize
10,000 BTU
up to 450 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
55 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Price
Size
10,000 BTU
up to 450 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
42 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Price
Size
12,000 BTU
up to 550 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
56 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Price
Size
12,000 BTU
up to 550 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
42 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Price
No live offerSize
18,000 BTU
up to 1,000 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
49 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
208/230 V
Price
Smallest first. "Not published" means the listing does not state that figure.
Size
8,000 BTU
up to 350 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
Not published
Heat
Cooling only
Price
No live offerWhirlpool
10,000 BTU Through-The-Wall Air Conditioner 115V - No HeatSize
10,000 BTU
up to 450 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
54 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Price
Whirlpool
10,000 BTU Through-The-Wall Air Conditioner 115V - With HeatSize
10,000 BTU
up to 450 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
57 dB(A)
Heat
Heats
Price
Whirlpool
12,000 BTU Through-The-Wall Air Conditioner 230V - Cool OnlySize
12,000 BTU
up to 550 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
56 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
208/230 V
Price
Whirlpool
12,000 BTU Through-The-Wall Air Conditioner 230V - With HeatSize
12,000 BTU
up to 550 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
56 dB(A)
Heat
Electric coil, 10,600 BTU
208/230 V
Price
Whirlpool
14,000 BTU Through-The-Wall Air Conditioner - Cool OnlySize
14,000 BTU
up to 700 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
57 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
208/230 V
Price
Size
14,000 BTU
up to 700 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
57 dB(A)
Heat
Heats
Price
No live offerSmallest first. "Not published" means the listing does not state that figure.
Size
12,000 BTU
up to 550 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
50 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Price
No live offerPrices are live retailer offers and change often; compare.ac may earn a commission on purchases, at no cost to you. Where one model number is sold as more than one listing, the row shows the cheapest and links the others. Portable units are often advertised by their older ASHRAE rating; the DOE's SACC rating is lower, so a portable's BTU does not compare directly with a window unit's.
Whirlpool Corporation licenses its name for window and portable air conditioners. The Whirlpool Home Comfort site says those units are manufactured under that license by XLS Products, Inc., which also provides the warranty.
Sources: Whirlpool Corporation licensing ; Whirlpool Home Comfort , read October 21, 2026.
We do not score brands, and no public data reports repair rates by brand. Here is how its in-stock models compare with every other brand's at the same size. For its window units: of the 4 sizes compared like for like, another brand is cheaper by at least $20 and 5% at all 4. Of the 4 sizes where both have a verified noise rating, its quietest model is the quietest by at least 3 dB at 1; it is within 3 dB of the quietest at 1; another brand is quieter by at least 3 dB at 2. None of its 5 in-stock models is ENERGY STAR certified. For its through-the-wall units: of the 3 sizes compared like for like, another brand is cheaper by at least $20 and 5% at all 3. Of the 3 sizes where both have a verified noise rating, it is within 3 dB of the quietest at 2; another brand is quieter by at least 3 dB at 1. None of its 5 in-stock models is ENERGY STAR certified. We hold no CPSC air conditioner notice that names Whirlpool. None of the 10 Whirlpool models we track that state a model number is named in a notice we hold, which is not a safety certification. 6 listings state no model number, so check the label on the unit itself.
Whirlpool Corporation licenses its name for window and portable air conditioners. The Whirlpool Home Comfort site says those units are manufactured under that license by XLS Products, Inc., which also provides the warranty.
We hold no CPSC air conditioner notice that names Whirlpool. None of the 10 Whirlpool models we track that state a model number is named in a notice we hold, which is not a safety certification. 6 listings state no model number, so check the label on the unit itself. A notice covers specific model numbers, so check the number on a unit's own label against it before buying or using one.
Window units: 6,000, 8,000, 10,000, 12,000 and 18,000 BTU. Through-the-wall units: 8,000, 10,000, 12,000 and 14,000 BTU. Portables: 12,000 BTU. Match the size to your room with the sizing calculator rather than picking the biggest one.
Window units in stock: $269.99 to $779.99. Through-the-wall units in stock: $529.99 to $659.99. Prices are live retailer offers and change often.