Brand
We track 11 Midea air conditioner models: 5 window units, 1 through-the-wall unit and 5 portables, 8,000 BTU to 14,000 BTU. None is in stock at a retailer we track right now. 1 CPSC air conditioner notice we hold names Midea: Midea U and U+ Window Air Conditioners (2025). Of the 11 Midea models we track, 3 models carry model numbers named in CPSC recall 25-320 (Midea U and U+ Window Air Conditioners); their purchase links stay paused. The other 5 that state a model number are not named in a notice we hold, which is not a safety certification. 3 listings state no model number, so check the label on the unit itself.
Midea Recalls About 1.7 Million U and U+ Window Air Conditioners Due to Risk of Mold Exposure. Published June 5, 2025. The notice covers units sold from March 2020 through May 2025; the model number is on a label on the front right side of the unit.
Transcribed from the notice, checked September 30, 2026.
Purchase links for these stay paused.
Not being listed is not a safety certification.
Check the model number on the unit's own label against the notice (a retailer title or a similar-looking product is not enough), then follow the notice's steps to confirm your unit. This check uses published US CPSC notices and is not a safety certification.
Smallest first. "Not published" means the listing does not state that figure.
Size
8,000 BTU
up to 350 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 15
ENERGY STAR
Noise
32 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Price
Recall listed: purchase pausedSize
8,000 BTU
up to 350 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 16
ENERGY STAR
Noise
42 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
Price
No live offerSize
10,000 BTU
up to 450 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 15
ENERGY STAR
Noise
51 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
Price
Recall listed: purchase pausedSize
12,000 BTU
up to 550 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 15
ENERGY STAR
Noise
52 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Price
Recall listed: purchase pausedSize
12,000 BTU
up to 550 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 15.2
ENERGY STAR
Noise
42 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
Price
No live offerSmallest first. "Not published" means the listing does not state that figure.
Size
10,000 BTU
up to 450 sq ft
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
Not published
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Price
No live offerSmallest first. "Not published" means the listing does not state that figure.
Size
12,000 BTU
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
42 dB(A)
Heat
Heats
Price
No live offerSize
12,000 BTU
Efficiency
Not published
Noise
56 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
115 V
Price
No live offerSize
12,000 BTU
up to 450 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 14.7
Noise
42 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
Price
No live offerSize
14,000 BTU
up to 550 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 14.2
Noise
42 dB(A)
Heat
Heats
Price
No live offerSize
14,000 BTU
up to 550 sq ft
Efficiency
CEER 13.8
Noise
42 dB(A)
Heat
Cooling only
Price
No live offerPrices are live retailer offers and change often; compare.ac may earn a commission on purchases, at no cost to you. Where one model number is sold as more than one listing, the row shows the cheapest and links the others. Portable units are often advertised by their older ASHRAE rating; the DOE's SACC rating is lower, so a portable's BTU does not compare directly with a window unit's.
Every notice we hold that names the brand, newest first, whoever filed it, including notices for models no retailer we track sells. A notice covers the model numbers it lists, not every Midea unit.
Risk of Mold Exposure
CPSC recall 25-320 names GD Midea Air-Conditioning Equipment Co. Ltd., of China, as the manufacturer of Midea's U and U+ window units and Midea America Corp., of Parsippany, New Jersey, as the importer. The same notice says those units were also sold as Comfort Aire, Danby, Frigidaire, Insignia, Keystone, LBG Products, Mr. Cool, Perfect Aire and Sea Breeze.
Source: CPSC recall 25-320 (June 5, 2025) , read October 21, 2026.
We do not score brands, and no public data reports repair rates by brand. Too few Midea models are in stock at shared sizes to compare it with other brands size by size right now; 0 of the 11 models we track are in stock. 1 CPSC air conditioner notice we hold names Midea: Midea U and U+ Window Air Conditioners (2025). Of the 11 Midea models we track, 3 models carry model numbers named in CPSC recall 25-320 (Midea U and U+ Window Air Conditioners); their purchase links stay paused. The other 5 that state a model number are not named in a notice we hold, which is not a safety certification. 3 listings state no model number, so check the label on the unit itself.
CPSC recall 25-320 names GD Midea Air-Conditioning Equipment Co. Ltd., of China, as the manufacturer of Midea's U and U+ window units and Midea America Corp., of Parsippany, New Jersey, as the importer. The same notice says those units were also sold as Comfort Aire, Danby, Frigidaire, Insignia, Keystone, LBG Products, Mr. Cool, Perfect Aire and Sea Breeze.
1 CPSC air conditioner notice we hold names Midea: Midea U and U+ Window Air Conditioners (2025). Of the 11 Midea models we track, 3 models carry model numbers named in CPSC recall 25-320 (Midea U and U+ Window Air Conditioners); their purchase links stay paused. The other 5 that state a model number are not named in a notice we hold, which is not a safety certification. 3 listings state no model number, so check the label on the unit itself. A notice covers specific model numbers, so check the number on a unit's own label against it before buying or using one.
Window units: 8,000, 10,000 and 12,000 BTU. Through-the-wall units: 10,000 BTU. Portables: 12,000 and 14,000 BTU. Match the size to your room with the sizing calculator rather than picking the biggest one.