Brand

Amana air conditioners: every model we track, compared

We track 7 Amana air conditioner models: 6 window units and 1 PTAC, 5,000 BTU to 15,000 BTU. 6 are in stock at a retailer right now, from $189.99. 12 CPSC air conditioner notices we hold name Amana, from 1992 to 2026. None of the 7 Amana models we track that state a model number is named in a notice we hold, which is not a safety certification.

Models
7
Sizes
5,000 to 15,000 BTU
In stock now
6
Notices naming it
12

How Amana compares with other brands, size by size

At each standard size where Amana and another brand both have a model in stock, we check whether Amana's cheapest model is the cheapest, its best efficiency rating the highest and its quietest verified noise rating the lowest. A price counts as cheaper only by at least $20 and 5%, and only between models installed the same way (a do-it-yourself kit is not priced against an installer-fitted system); anything closer is level. We do not rate reliability: no public data reports repair rates by brand.

Window units

  • Amana has 6 window units in stock at 6 standard sizes; at all 6, another brand has one in stock too.
  • Of the 6 sizes compared like for like, its cheapest model is the cheapest in stock by at least $20 and 5% at 1; another brand is cheaper by at least $20 and 5% at 5.
  • Of the 5 sizes where both have a verified noise rating, it is within 3 dB of the quietest at 2; another brand is quieter by at least 3 dB at 3.
  • None of its 6 in-stock models is ENERGY STAR certified.
  • Where its listings state one, the compressor warranty is 1 year.
Amana against the cheapest other brand at each size
SizeAmana fromOthers from
5,000 BTU$189.99$159 GE
6,000 BTU$249.99$199 LG
8,000 BTU$289.99$269 GE
10,000 BTU$349.99$309 GE
12,000 BTU$399.99$379 GE
15,000 BTU$749.99$849 Friedrich

Amana window air conditioners (6)

Smallest first. "Not published" means the listing does not state that figure.

Amana pTACs (1)

Smallest first. "Not published" means the listing does not state that figure.

Prices are live retailer offers and change often; compare.ac may earn a commission on purchases, at no cost to you. Where one model number is sold as more than one listing, the row shows the cheapest and links the others.

CPSC air conditioner notices that name Amana

Every notice we hold that names the brand, newest first, whoever filed it, including notices for models no retailer we track sells. A notice covers the model numbers it lists, not every Amana unit.

Who is behind Amana

The Amana name belongs to Whirlpool Corporation, which licenses it out. Amana window and portable air conditioners are manufactured under license by XLS Products, Inc., and Amana PTACs and through-the-wall units under license by Daikin Comfort Technologies North America, according to Whirlpool's licensing page and the two Amana sites.

Sources: Whirlpool Corporation licensing ; Amana Home Comfort (window and portable) ; Amana PTAC , read October 21, 2026.

Amana questions, answered

Is Amana a good air conditioner brand?

We do not score brands, and no public data reports repair rates by brand. Here is how its in-stock models compare with every other brand's at the same size. For its window units: of the 6 sizes compared like for like, its cheapest model is the cheapest in stock by at least $20 and 5% at 1; another brand is cheaper by at least $20 and 5% at 5. Of the 5 sizes where both have a verified noise rating, it is within 3 dB of the quietest at 2; another brand is quieter by at least 3 dB at 3. None of its 6 in-stock models is ENERGY STAR certified. 12 CPSC air conditioner notices we hold name Amana, from 1992 to 2026. None of the 7 Amana models we track that state a model number is named in a notice we hold, which is not a safety certification.

Who makes Amana air conditioners?

The Amana name belongs to Whirlpool Corporation, which licenses it out. Amana window and portable air conditioners are manufactured under license by XLS Products, Inc., and Amana PTACs and through-the-wall units under license by Daikin Comfort Technologies North America, according to Whirlpool's licensing page and the two Amana sites.

Has Amana had air conditioner recalls?

12 CPSC air conditioner notices we hold name Amana, from 1992 to 2026. None of the 7 Amana models we track that state a model number is named in a notice we hold, which is not a safety certification. The notices: Amana Through-The-Wall Air Conditioners and Heat Pumps (2026); Amana Air Conditioners and Heat Pumps (2026); Daikin FIT, Amana Brand S-series, and Goodman SD Heat Pumps (2024, filed by Daikin); Amana, Daikin, Goodman-Branded Air Conditioning and Heat Pump Packaged Units (2024); Amana Packaged Terminal Air Conditioners and Heat Pumps (2023); Goodman Packaged Terminal Air Conditioners and Heat Pumps (2018, filed by Goodman), and 6 older. A notice covers specific model numbers, so check the number on a unit's own label against it before buying or using one.

What sizes do Amana air conditioners come in?

Window units: 5,000, 6,000, 8,000, 10,000, 12,000 and 15,000 BTU. PTACs: 12,000 BTU. Match the size to your room with the sizing calculator rather than picking the biggest one.

How much do Amana air conditioners cost?

Window units in stock: $189.99 to $749.99. Prices are live retailer offers and change often.